Trial of new medicine

I started a new lupus medication on Tuesday. Even though I’m diagnosed as having mixed connective tissue disease, most of my symptoms are within the realm of lupus. The symptoms I have are: a red rash across my nose and onto my cheeks (butterfly rash), fatigue, pain in joints, headaches, dry eyes, chest pain (started after I had Covid in April 2020), and blue toes and lips from Raynaud’s syndrome.

I have been on sooo many medications over the past 15 years I can’t even keep them straight. The last few were azathioprine, methotrexate, and I just started a new one called benlysta – which is a very new drug. It’s crazy that some meds will work for a period of time and then all of a sudden all of my symptoms start coming back and it’s time to start a new med (which takes 60-90 days to get into your system to see if it will help).

So I just got my auto injector benlysta in the mail the other day so I decided to start then. my body has been a little crazy (code for I feel like complete shit, but hide the shittery well lol) but I woke up Wednesday morning and my joints are all inflamed and hurting. I’m hoping within the next few days my body will start to calm down.

But the biggest reason I wrote this blog about my new med is that my dog, maui, has not left my side. I just think it’s so crazy how in tune he is with me, and can almost feel my pain. He is almost always touching me and trying to make me feel better. Does your pooch or cat do the same?

Published by lizmctd

Living the best I can with Mixed Connective Tissue Disease, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, Chronic Pain, Fibromyalgia, Spondylolthesis, and Lumbar Fusion which has given me nerve pain

3 thoughts on “Trial of new medicine

  1. I am so sorry for what you are going through. I pray you are able to find some Joy somewhere between the suffering. My kitty cat brings me a lot of comfort. She is a rare breed, Cornish Rex…and so smart. She gives me kisses when she knows I need them the most. Many Animals truly seem to have that 6th sense, right!?! I believe per therapy can help so many people in situations similar to ours. Sometimes we just need someone to be there, not talk or give advice, just be there and it sounds like your pooch is that “person”. Liz I pray 🙏🏻 for the Lord to take away your suffering. I pray for the inflammation to subside and for you to have more less painful days.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started